Kangaroo burgers for the kids – thanks to Iceland’s new range. Is this the way forward?

Uncategorized


kangaroo burgers

Burger and chips don’t have to be a bad choice for kids.  Last night’s supper for my 2 little ones (5 and 7 years) was Iceland’s Kangaroo burgers in sourdough bread with lamb’s lettuce and pepper salad and homemade chips.

Ok, so, I’m a bit of a foodie, and I do like to stretch my children’s eating habits when I can, so when I saw that Iceland were offering a new range of “speciality meats”, I took a vote with the kids and we decided to try out kangaroo burgers.

Kangaroo meat is a bit unconventional, but it might well be the future.  Consider this:  Kangaroos live and thrive in environments cattle don’t like, their meat is healthier than cows (2% fat and low in saturated fat).  It’s also free range – and as far as I know, less likely to be pumped full of all the stuff people object to in other meats.

Also, Kangaroos don’t create greenhouse gas, methane, so they’re environmentally a lot better than beef.  If kangaroo meat becomes more popular, that sounds like a good thing, so it’s at least worth a try.

Better still, in Iceland, the burgers are currently £1.50 for 2, and that fits pretty well into my tight dinner time budget.

I wanted an easy meal, but I also wanted something that would use good quality ingredients, be relatively good for the kids, and not too expensive, so here’s what I did:

For the chips:  just cut potatoes into wedges (skin left on) toss them in olive oil and put them in the oven for 40 mins on a high heat.  This makes great oven chips which aren’t deep fried, and still have all their goodness.

For the salad:  Lamb’s lettuce (little sweet tasting leaves which have none of the bitterness or pepperiness of rocket or watercress).  It’s £1 for a small bag and the kids eat it willingly.  I just tossed it in a little oil, with a sliced up red pepper for crunchy freshness and colour.

For the “buns”:  I splashed out on a sourdough loaf (£1.50 – but only used a couple of slices).  Really good artisan bread lifts the meal way above a spongey bunand makes it feel much more grown up.  I fried the burgers (for the same time as ordinary burgers) and then toasted slices of the bread in the remaining oil to give them a toasty crunchy edge.

All in all, it’s hardly a tricky recipe and was all accomplished while the kids were in the bath. No dramas.kangaroo2

The result – they loved it!  And the total cost – £1.50 per portion with the added benefit that it’ssomething a grown-up could happily eat too (I didn’t – I’m a pescetarian, so I had a mackerel fillet in my bun).

We’ll be doing that again and may even try Iceland’s Ostrich and crocodile alternatives.

As I said at the beginning: A burger and chips doesn’t have to be bad food.

I know that one day, someone is going to take my kids to McDonalds.  But when they get there, I am determined that they’ll walk in pre-armed with the knowledge that there is another, better way!

Leave a Reply

