Monster Munch Vs Spaghetti bolognese – can you feed the kids for less than the price of a pack of crisps?

Uncategorized

monster munch

I’ve heard so much about the difficulty of cooking decent kid’s food on a budget recently, and I do know it’s tough.  However, I’ve also seen the kind of junk that’s being marketed at parents and the prices people seem willing to pay for it.

Last night then, I thought I’d give myself a challenge:  Try to cook the kids a fairly basic, easy, healthy meal for less than the price of a packet of Monster Munch crisps.

This isn’t rocket science – It’s spaghetti bolognese.

I’ve used Quorn mince (although you could probably use beef for a similar price if you used a frozen pack).

I chopped 1 onion and fried it with a clove of garlic, then I added 1/2 a pack of passata (sainsbury’s – 50p a pack), a squirt of tomato pure and 1 large chopped tomato.

I mixed in a spoonful of Marmite for a meaty flavour, and added 1/2 pack of Quorn mince (£2 per pack).

While that was bubbling away, I boiled 1/2 a pack of Sainsbury’s budget spaghetti (35p a pack).

Finally, I grated some cheese on top (a big block of basics mature cheese is £4, and it’s Ok for this kind of thing – all I needed was a few gratings).

The result fed me and two children easily with enough leftover bolognese for lunch.

It worked out at 46p per (kids) portion.  A pack of Monster Munch can be had at 80p.

Stay tuned…. Next week, I’m planning to pull out the big guns – and challenge my budget cooking skills head-to-head with a Snickers bar!

One thought on “Monster Munch Vs Spaghetti bolognese – can you feed the kids for less than the price of a pack of crisps?

Leave a Reply

