Social Media Inaccuracies, urban legends and pseudoscience – It’s easy to check before you post

Uncategorized

PRESS INACCURACY

We’re heading into an election and there are plenty of well funded organisations out there using social media to convince us of things that aren’t true.

There are also plenty of urban legends, inaccurate postings, photos that aren’t what they claim to be, and stuff that’s just plain wrong.

So I’m making the commitment to make a basic Google check on whatever I post, share or get upset about.

If I see a post, and find it’s untrue, I’ll call the poster on it – regardless of how awkward that is, or how much I agree with the sentiment.  If I know it’s inaccurate, I’ll say so (and I’ll post a link to the source I’ve found).

That’s not to say I’ll never post anything wrong, or inaccurate – but I hope others call me on it when I do.

And to be clear, I’m not talking about opinion – there’s plenty of stuff that’s open to opinion and that’s fine – I’m talking about memes that are based on demonstrably incorrect facts.

We’re living in an age now where social media is fast replacing the press as the way most of us get our news, and it’s important that we try to make sure that badly checked journalism isn’t replaced by completely unchecked hearsay.

Google a few words from the post along side “fake” or “hoax” – it takes 30 seconds.  It’s easy.

Share this if you agree!

Leave a Reply

